blueflame27

I write, you read, you comment, then I write again

  • Categories

  • Archives

Bad Break Up

Posted by blueflame27 on March 3, 2011

This is about the time when my phone broke up with me.

I got my phone just last January 1, 2011 (yes, new year, new phone). It’s not a classy high-tech phone. I didn’t ask for one since all I needed from a phone are its text, call, and alarm capabilities. It’s actually a simple camera phone with a sleek maroon back case and an easy-to-use keypad. It’s very lightweight and didn’t create a bulge on my pants when I keep it inside my pocket. Ever since I got her, I always bring her anywhere I go, to class, to Katipunan, to the showers, really anywhere. Although she’s always with me, I know for a fact that I’m taking all her cool features for granted.

Despite being a cam-whore, I never actually utilized her camera for vanity. I only took a picture or two and that’s it. I also didn’t download any songs for her so that I have something to listen to when I’m bored. I just don’t feel that I should use her as an iPod because I wouldn’t be able to text using an iPod even if I wanted to. I didn’t even try to change her green monkey theme which is makes me sometimes feel awkward since it’s the color of the school in TAFT (shallow, right?). It’s actually refreshing to look at and that’s fine with me.  I also used her internet browser only once just to give it a try then I realized how much it would cost so I never again used her for checking my emails or Facebook. Besides, that’s why we have computers, right?

Sometime during the first week of school after Christmas break, I wanted to buy a planner for the New Year since now I know how helpful it is to have one. I wasn’t able to drink 17 cups of coffee in Starbucks so I didn’t get a hold of one of their limited edition, wood, red velvet, or elegant silver planner. Instead, I decided to buy one in National Bookstore. While in the store, I kept browsing the saved messages in my phone where all of the things I need to do were listed. During that time, I badly need a planner, I said to myself.  When I came across about a homework in Chinese Class to be submitted the same week, I checked my phone’s calendar to see if I still have time before I would be compelled to cram it. Then just as I was about to exit the calendar, I realized that phones have Add Day Notes Option. Because of that “wth?” moment, I spent a few more minutes in scrutinizing my phone and checking other stuff that it can do that is beyond my knowing. I realized that it also has a Create Note feature that lets me, well, create notes, up to 3000 characters. This means that I won’t be flooding my Saved Messages Folder with things-I-need-to-do messages. Also, I can save the said notes on my phone’s calendar so that I would see which will be the days that I’m going to be busy and which are just going to be chill for me. What I like about it is that each note also has its own alarm and icon that tell me how urgent the note is about. With this, I left the store without a planner inside my NBS plastic bag and that was the start of my wonderful relationship with her (my phone).

In the morning, I would wake up by the sound of her default alarm. I’d then reach for her underneath my pillow where I put her last night. Before bouncing off my bed and hitting the showers, I would check her for the things I wasn’t able to do yesterday that I really need to do today, the things I need to do today, and to give me a heads up, the things intended for tomorrow. After getting dressed and ready for class, I’d always make sure that she’s with me. Every after class, I’d reach for her inside my pocket and check for messages and notes to remind me again of what to do. At most, I check her by the hour and sometimes even during class if the subject is boring. Every time I get something done, I would erase that something from my list. During the day, I get to use her a lot for erasing things I need to do from her note list and for adding other notes that I get during class. What she has over planners is that I can easily erase or change scheduled things to do without the need to cross it out, unlike in paper, and get the spot look dirty. When I have nothing to do, I check her for my note list, not because I forget easily what I need to do but because I just want to look at her. As the day ends and I get ready to sleep, I would again check her for the my note list to see which are the things I wasn’t able to do and the things I need to prepare to do for tomorrow, at the same time, set up my morning alarm.

Everything was going great until something happened. The night before the day when it happened, I saw that her battery is low but I was too lazy to charge her since I’m already lying on my comfy bed, about to sleep, when I noticed it. The next day, I woke up by the sound of her default alarm. I reached for her underneath my pillow where I put her last night. Before bouncing off my bed and hitting the showers, I checked her for the things I wasn’t able to do yesterday that I really need to do today, the things I need to do today, and the things intended for tomorrow and saw that my day is jam-packed. You could even say that it’s my hell-est day yet. I the bounced off my bed and hit the showers. I then got dressed and went off to class. While walking in the middle of the path way in Cervini Field, I was holding her when she finally gave up on me, Battery Empty, Blank Screen, I’m not talking to you for some time, give me some space, good bye for now. It was just the start of my day and now I have to juggle the numerous things I need to do all alone, just by using shear memory earlier from reading the note list. I can’t go back to the dorm get her charger since I’m way behind schedule already. I never thought there was something greater than hell-est and I realized that thanks to our break up. In the end, at least I survived that day.

Modernization has given us so many choices of how to make our lives easier. Today’s generation was born during the time when most of the things that are very difficult a decade ago weren’t as difficult anymore now that we have the technology. As time passes, we see these products of modernization as the normally used and not the easier way like to rely on a cellphone to do all the planning for the day as what we usually do rather than writing it down or just remembering everything by heart . Remembering things to do for the day may sometimes be hard, that’s why there are other things one can do to make it easier. But when one relies solely on the easier thing, say the notes on the cellphone and not one’s memory, when the easier things fail, the harder things become frustratingly harder. We tend to forget that technology was born to make life easier but not to eradicate the basics. It simply helps us and helping is different from replacing.

After that break up, I never again treated my phone as a life partner but rather as a tool that would compensate if ever I forget some other things to do.

24 Responses to “Bad Break Up”

  1. thebaker said

    The way you look at your phone is quite interesting! 🙂 And that green color issue is really shallow haha!
    Your thought flow is clear, you just have to clear up some repeated phrases.

  2. esc9593 said

    I think that this is something that most people realize as well. Maybe you should choose a more personal topic so that you could have deeper reflections and so that you would have better insights.

  3. Monica Canis said

    It’s okay as a whole, but the fifth paragraph just seems awkward to me, especially the second sentence. Also, like thebaker’s comment, I think the repeated sentences are too much. Maybe you’re just trying to emphasize the repetitiveness of your schedule, but it seems overwhelming to the reader. :))

  4. A misleading topic (in a good way.) Maybe discuss a deeper topic? Or, relate the cellphone topic to a deeper topic. That would be interesting:)

  5. Maybe you could write about something more significant than your phone losing its battery. But it’s good that you were able to get something deeper from a rather shallow event in your life. 🙂

  6. you give so much importance to your cellphone:)) great insights.. It needs a few more editing, though. Besides that, good job!:)

  7. Mr. Yoso said

    I really feel that you should write about something more personal than this – something that has a deeper meaning in life, especially your own life. I hope that you’d be able to make those changes in your reflection paper.

  8. I think that you should focus more on adding more insights rather than trying to be as specific as possible in narrating. And yeah, you do have repeated phrases. Haha.

  9. What a nice and interesting way of writing about your phone. 🙂 It was fun and amusing to read but in the end, I think you lack in insights. On the other hand, I think you should choose a better topic if you have already chosen this to be your topic. I hope you find something more unique and life changing. 🙂

  10. I noticed that your paper revolves around your phone. Though your it plays an important role in this reflection paper, I think you should take more about yourself rather than it. Also, maybe you can add more insights on a more personal level.

  11. o.o sorry kinda got weirded out by the whole phone thing =)) haha its an okay post 🙂 but i think you could’ve chosen a better topic, one where you could find more insights, as in your post there are only few.

  12. It’s interesting to note that you talked about your cellphone as a “she”. I guess in that sense, your essay had a more personal tone to it. Nevertheless, I think it would be nice to make it a bit more personal. 🙂

  13. icarllee said

    Your topic seemed interesting enough, but I didn’t really get much insight from you while reading your essay. It was good how you tackled modernization towards the end, but I felt that you could’ve still added more personal reflection to it rather than merely posting a narrative. Looking forward to your continuation!

  14. kevinike01 said

    Your paper is really really nice since you described your phone in a different angle. Very good job. Keep it up 🙂

  15. timetoroll said

    I think writing about you and your phone’s relationship is very interesting.
    Won’t you consider writing about why you treated your phone as a ‘life-partner’? Is it because your also lonely – or you need someone in life (girlfriend or friends)?

  16. I think it’s really interesting how you regard your phone as something that lives, so maybe you can expound more on that. You also might want to make it a bit more personal and add more insights 😀 What made you so dependent on your phone in the first place? etc.

  17. jad-king said

    This was an interesting one. I had expected to read about a relationship with a certain woman until I read the first paragraph. It was a clever take on how to describe your phone. I was disappointed though–I’m a sucker for cheesy love stories. Haha. But it was good.

  18. pepperpen said

    Your tone and language are candid and I think it makes the reader more comfortable reading your work. I like that 🙂
    The idea of the overly tech dependent person/lifestyle is something unique and if you can add more personal insight then it would be great. One way would be if you could look at it from ‘her’ perspective maybe, how does ‘she’ feel neglected or something. I think this might reflect the kind of role you play in a relationship (if in case that’s what you’re going for). just thinking out of the box. have fun 😉
    good job

  19. “I just don’t feel that I should use her as an iPod because I wouldn’t be able to text using an iPod even if I wanted to.” I didn’t quite get it. Hmm, the narration is nice and clear. However, it was so long and tiring to read. Cut some parts and leave only the necessary ones so as not to bore your readers. 😛 I think your experience is a bit commonplace. Everybody almost always experiences that. Maybe change your experience to something very unique that makes you different from us. Or, if you really wanna stick to that, exaggerate how you successfully managed your day without her. 🙂

  20. haha u know, i use my phone the same way, in my draft folder, i have tons of to-do stuff :))) and i keep on forgetting to erase them afterward so during the weekend, i have to erase tons of stuffs, :))) and ya i know the feeling of your phone dying on you….O_O its like you don’t know what to do …its like you died right?

    you had a greets reflection at the last paragraph, however thats one thing you could improve on, most of the reflection part of your reflection paper is in that last paragraph, the paragraphs before was more like a narrative than a reflective 🙂

    God bless! 🙂

  21. ~vip.♥ said

    I really like how you wrote the paper differently. I thought your whole reaction paper was a narrative of your having a cool phone. It is in the second to the last paragraph where you put your insights, so your points were clear. I think there were a lot of redundancies in the text, and there are parts that were quite irrelevant. As the others have also said, I was actually thinking of something more personal to tackle, instead of an issue about our generation and modern technology in general.

  22. The title fooled me, I thought this was another paper about love 🙂

    Ah, an instance in life where technology actually makes man life a living hell. Your narration style deserves praise. The insight for me was lacking; adding deeper insights would make this good paper into a great paper!

  23. notmyname said

    I liked your insights about technology. Somehow, your realization made me think of wall-e, and how the people in the movie overused technology. 🙂

    Anyway, this is an interesting topic, but I’m not sure if I disagree, or agree that you should write about a more personal experience. Maybe it is already personal with the way you describe your dependence to your “girlfriend.” 😀

  24. There are just some technical issues, but you’re writing is interesting. Not Bad.

Leave a comment